Home

Day Three. My Views On Drugs And Alcohol.

Drugs.

The hour of judgement is here. I don’t feel right talking about this for so many reasons but, I shall, I will, I must prevail.

As a doctor in the making, I feel the need to give a definition of drugs.

“A substance or other preparation used for the treatment or prevention of disease”

That definition looks too complicated, I didn’t even bother reading it. To me, drugs are anything that makes you feel better; medicinal or not. If weed makes you feel better then, weed is your drug. For me, love is my drug.

I don’t believe in judging people so, I can’t really say “Drugs are of the devil” or “Only agbero’s take drugs” or anything of that nature. I’m not a druggie, I refuse to venture into that side of life but at the same time, I don’t look down on people who do. We are not aware of why people take drugs or what they’re going through. They might be depressed or frustrated. Different people have different ways of dealing with their problems.

I hate to draw a conclusion about people based on one single action but rather on the underlying reason or their intentions. Meanwhile, is weed classified under drugs?(Not like anyone will answer that. Bless you shy readers). Drug use is only a problem to me when one is hooked on it. When it begins to mess with your brain. When professional help is needed.

I haven’t really done a good job giving my views on drugs but, all I have to say is that I don’t think it’s particularly wrong but at the same time, I can’t be friends with people that take drugs regularly. Neither can I be with someone that takes drugs.

Alcohol.

If you did secondary school chemistry, you will know that alcohol is nothing but a two carbon chain hydrocarbon with an ‘H’ group being replaced by an ‘OH’ functional group. I fail to see the harm in that. I mean both alpha and beta glucose have an ‘oh’ group on them. Then again, so does Benzene and that’s harmful. They have different structures so, as a biochemist, I shouldn’t really compare both of them.

I personally don’t have a problem with alcohol. I hear people constantly condemning others that drink or get drunk occasionally and, it makes me frown. I never frown so, that’s how bad it is. The world needs to understand that there is a difference between people who drink and alcoholics. For me, alcohol is….hmmm. I’m trying hard not to say anything that’ll jeopardize my future. Wouldn’t want any silly scandals later in life if I end up being famous.

Alcohol could be some people’s drug as it allows you to forget about the pain and the hurt and all of those rubbish emotions just for a while. That’s all some people need sometimes. You think people like the bitter taste of that shit? If I need vodka to have fun, get rid of my nerves and forget about my series of unfortunate events for one night then, vodka is what I will have. You can sit back and judge me all you want but, that would never make you a better person. There’s nothing wrong as long as you’re not a drunkard. Using our children’s school fees to buy scotch and Jägerbomb ? Nah br’uh.

Love,
Drinky Drinky A
X

One thought on “Day Three. My Views On Drugs And Alcohol.

  1. Drugs and alcohol…hmm..well we are talking about drugs and alcohol not why people take them and on that note,the only thing i have to say is this
    Both drugs and alcohol are addictive…it only takes the grace of God to take cocaine today and not want to go back to it the next day,it drains your life gradually and makes you become less of a person,many homes,lives,relationships have been wrecked, ppl have gone crazy as a result of these two…so what you should be doing is telling ppl to look to the better side no matter the situation and not this ‘i won’t judge’ bs…btw,alcohol isn’t really addictive but it’s advisable to stay away when you can…nice blog anyways

Leave a Reply

